Help Wanted

We need a sitter! Can you help?

Because of some bad experiences last time we tried to find someone, we have decided to avoid general ads or posts on Craigslist. Instead, because of trust issues with strangers (I found out I had them ;)), I want to know the person watching Laelia or know the person who is referring a potential sitter. So we are doing this by word-of-mouth referrals.

That means we need your help! Do you have a sitter you love or friend who is available in the mornings for  consistent part time work? Are you interested?  Do we see  you out and about and you have ALWAYS wanted to be Laelia’s sitter but never thought to beg for the job before? :) Well perfect! Just email me, Alexis, at recordsky (at) gmail.com and we’re in business!

Details:

Laelia will be 16 months old as of tomorrow.  She has arthrogryposis (joint contractures)  with amyoplasia (muscle loss). We  think our schedules will work out to where we need a  sitter starting March 1st (or sooner if you need), Monday through Friday  from 9:00am to 2:00pm. (Although if this needs to be tweaked for your schedule, let me know!) The job pays  $150/week, paid every Monday. (Salary negotiable.)

You can watch her at your home (if you’re close by) or our home. (We live in Hillcrest and have three cats just to warn you. :)) And if you have kids, you can  bring them  along if you want too. (Pretty much whatever is easier for you.)

We’ll provide food and diapers and all that.

Laelia’s schedule is not set in stone. In fact, you can set it up to fit your schedule. We just ask that it include breakfast around the time she arrives  (we should give her  a bottle before she comes over), lunch sometime before I  pick her up at 2pm, a nap if she looks tired somewhere in there  (or none if she’s fine) and twenty minutes of stretches. Her stretches  are for her tight joints. I have taught ten people the stretches and they are somewhat easy to learn.

You also have to keep an eye on her left shoe. It’s called an  AFO (ankle foot orthotic) and she has to wear  it 24/7. It tends to slip. (No big deal if it does.)

Our Quirks:

We treat Lali as if she is the cutest thing alive and think she’s adorable all the time even when she’s being a pill. (Yes, we’re *those* parents.) ;)

Laelia isn’t allowed to watch television. Laelia isn’t allowed around men we don’t know. Laelia isn’t allowed around faith healers (long story). :)  We don’t allow any physical punishments.

Laelia likes peek-a-boo, being held upside-down and doing things herself. She likes to  rough house.  She always wants to do  things by  herself and that includes  turning pages or  reaching toys. (Try  to avoid putting everything closer to her or making everything easier for her.)

Laelia IS allowed to have her hair pulled and be picked on by other kids. :) She’s not glass.  Right now she is around six other kids (nine on  Mondays).    

Okay that’s all I can think of so if you have any other questions, please email me!  

And if you  aren’t interested, live a million miles away  and  know of no one to help, you can always help by praying!  I have loved all Lali’s sitters, but hated looking for them. It’s a big stress!  We can use all the support we can get!  

Thank you!!!

One Response to “Help Wanted”

  1. Melissa Rowe says:

    Well, I wouldn’t be able to because of school, but I will definitely pray about it :)

Leave a Reply